Humanitarian Inclusion Standards for Older People and People with Disabilities

Publication language
Date published
03 Aug 2021
Plans, policy and strategy
Multi-sector/cross-sector, Disability, Engaging with affected populations, Inclusion, Older people
Use in Humanitarian Programme Cycle
All phases of the HPC

Humanitarian principles require that humanitarian assistance and protection are provided on the basis of need, without discrimination. The Humanitarian inclusion standards for older people and  people with disabilities are designed to help address the  gap in understanding the needs, capacities and rights of  older people and people with disabilities, and promote their inclusion in humanitarian action. The Standard consists of nine key inclusion standards, and seven sets of sector-specific inclusion standards for protection – water, sanitation and hygiene, food security and livelihoods, nutrition, shelter, settlement and household items, health and education. Each chapter presents a set of standards with key actions to meet the standard, guidance notes to support delivery of  the actions, tools and resources, and case studies illustrating  how older people and people with disabilities access and  participate in humanitarian response. They are designed to be used in conjunction with other international standards such as Sphere and the Core Humanitarian Standards.

Developed by the Age and Disability Capacity Programme (ADCAP), an initiative of the 'Age and Disability Consortium' (consisting of CBM,, Handicap International, HelpAge International, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Cresce